Beranda > GIS, Tips > Fixing Geomatica Crashes

Fixing Geomatica Crashes

Lately, I need to work on Geomatica software. It’s interesting software, but unfortunately, we need to pay to use it. I admit, it’s powerful but has quite bad UI. Anyway, I haven’t played much with it. I also only use the 30 days trial version

One of the thing that I need to do is image classification for remote sensing. I have a raster data, that I need to classify. Unfortunately, every time I tried to create a data training (creating some polygon to mark it as a class), the Geomatica is always hanging then crash. It starts crashing when I try to pan or zoom the layer.

Geomatica

My friends (who also got the same problem) recommended me to pan slowly, do not zoom too much, or disable the other layer. Unfortunately, it does not help much. It’s frustrating actually since I need to have about 20 data training for each class.

Strangely, it was working fine in my friend’s laptop although her laptop doesn’t have a high spec as mine (mine is XPS 9360, it has SSD, i7 proc, and 16GB RAM). Finally, I got an idea that perhaps the screen resolution of my laptop is too high for it.

The initial resolution is 3200×1800. I changed it to 1600×900. Finally, it works fine. I didn’t try with other resolution though.

It’s not comfortable to work with less resolution actually. The image is not as sharp as before. So, I need to revert to the initial resolution to make me happy again.

Hope it helps 🙂

Kategori:GIS, Tips Tag:, , ,
  1. Belum ada komentar.
  1. 15 Maret 2023 pukul 00:02

Tinggalkan komentar